8.3 C
Friday, April 19, 2024

Russia imposes sanctions on top US politicians. Including Biden and Blinken

Releted by category

Michał Kasjanowicz
Michał Kasjanowicz
News about Politics & Tech
- Advertisement -

The Russian sanctions are expected to affect US President Joe Biden and Secretary of State Antony Blinken, among others. The sanctions were introduced “in response to a series of unprecedented sanctions banning, among other things, top Russian officials from entering the US,” – The Russian Foreign Ministry wrote on Twitter.

The sanctions imposed by Russia on the US are expected to affect key US politicians and people associated with them. Those affected by the sanctions are expected to include US President Joe Biden and his son Hunter Biden.

Secretary of State Antony Blinken and Defense Secretary Lloyd Austin are also expected to be affected by the sanctions. In addition to them, Security Advisor Jake Sullivan, CIA chief William Joseph Burns, White House spokeswoman Jen Psaki, and former Secretary of State Hillary Clinton, among others, are named.

“In response to a series of unprecedented sanctions banning, among other things, top Russian officials from entering the U.S., Joe Biden, Antony Blinken and a number of other U.S. personalities have been included in the Russian ‘stop-list’ as of March 15,” – The Russian Foreign Ministry wrote on Twitter.

Britain and Canada impose more sanctions on Russia

The British government today announced sanctions on a further 370 individuals, companies and other entities from Russia and Belarus. Among those sanctioned are Russian Defense Minister Sergei Shoygu, Kremlin spokesman Dmitry Peskov and former President and Prime Minister Dmitry Medvedev.

Sanctions have also been imposed on Russia’s current prime minister Mikhail Mishstin and foreign ministry spokeswoman Maria Zakharova, the Internet Research Agency company, which is a “troll factory”, as well as 51 oligarchs and their family members whose combined wealth is estimated at more than £100 billion.

New sanctions were also announced today by Canada. They affect 15 officials and representatives of President Vladimir Putin, Canadian Foreign Minister Melanie Joly announced on Tuesday.

“The new sanctions impose restrictions on 15 Russian official representatives who enabled and supported President Putin’s choice to invade a peaceful and sovereign country. As part of a growing list of sanctions against Russian leaders, the new measures will put additional pressure on President Putin to change his behaviour,” the Canadian Foreign Affairs Ministry wrote in a release, indicating that the sanctions are coordinated with Canada’s international partners.

- Advertisement -

More articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -

Latest article